Escape From Understandable Stupidity

i lie.

i cheat.

i hate. & i kill.

but these things that i do, are but dreams in my head.

it’s a simple device.

i speak my mind. but often i sit here, cross-legged in my cave.

& i’m jealous & i loathe, i despise & i fear.

these things i now share with you.

& i dream of death & i love to hate. I bitch & i whinge and i spread no joy.

but these things are kept within a splendid realm. a frenzied sense of sensibility.

& then i look down.

& i see the flowers on my floor. pictures of beautiful girls who smile. bodies that lust & ideals that i trust.

& i’d love to share a smile!

i worship no god, my taxes are paid & my days are filled with children and chaos.

i seek to engage. i seek to create. i seek a new wife. i seek my own god. i seek & i learn.

my mistakes are my own. my hate is my own.

but all these things balance. the hate. the love.

& i have yet to kill.

i hate stupid ideas. i hate bureaucracy. i hate people in power who limit my life.

& so with a daily smile i complain. i complain to you. & i would kiss you. i might hate you!

but i have yet to kill.

i live within my cave.  i live within my means. i am my own god & i am my own mistakes.

but i do not kill.

the world is full of the likes of me; simple, innocent fools. people who dream.

& we do not kill.

we share our hate & argue our points. we spit our venom and sulk in papers.

but we let each other grow old.

so let me throw these petals of beauty at you & tell you that i want change. that i trust no-one with power. no man of guns, no man of money, no man of support.

let me throw my words at you & see how you cope!

resist me with intellect & respect I will give. love i will grow. & with slow frustrated acceptance will i begrudgingly grant the terms that you seek.

but i will not kill.

is this a message you could understand?

(c) Ed Simkins

Leave a Reply

