when the rain falls inside

your tears fill my bed with pain

your pretty little face destroys me

kills me.

a simple ending to a pleasant night.

your naked skin beautifies the room.

a soft red light warms.

i brush your cheek with the gentlest of hands

& your silken tear forces me to shed my pain.

we sit in silence.

a self-destructive mess no end in sight.

a single kiss would end such pain

a sweet smile to close the book.

i hold you close and feel you shake

a shudder aches in each stolen sob.

i question you and ask you why

i remember the fights that came before.

i ask the world outside to save our souls

to end the bitterness that now exists.

your skin so smooth its cold and shakes

frustrated mind that lashes out.

how can i save myself or you?

i need your love and that is all

i can’t see why you must go.

your innocence frightens me

& my careless talk destroys you.

i ask once more and silence falls

a humbled pause that stops my breath

a broken car that will not start

a tortured love that fell apart.

~ she walked away in tears

(c) Ed Simkins

Leave a Reply

