To rest with you.

Dear ……, i sit,

In God’s all seeing chair.

With memories & nightmares,

I dream of you.

.x.

As Music soothes. Or music claims.

Darkness descends and my loyal friends, the waves of time, wash over me.

I rest. Head hurts.

Thoughts fight and lose & in my mind, I talk to you.

.x.

I long to place my weary head.

Lay down on thee, an unknown lap, an untouched bride.

To feel your hand, caress my face.

Your tender touch, my soothing star.

.x.

I wish to love. I wish to be.

I am tired once more. Oh to sleep with thee.

.x.

Body still, your eyes I see.

We lie in bed or grass beneath.

No need to kiss for love can travel.

A gentle rose, your happy face.

.x.

With you I fall & my mind drifts under,

Secure in the knowledge of your calming presence.

A warm blanket so soft, you throw around us.

& you wrap your tender youthful arms, & happiness ensues.

.x.

If you were here then the world I’d conquer

And each night, like now, I’d return to see

Angelic contours and shapes so pure

Your face entrances. I want you near.

.x.

I close my eyes & your face I see.

Your pretty form in poetry,

I’d hold you close & love you whole,

If only you were close to me.

.x.

~ Written because I feel sick & my head hurts. I close my eyes and picture the prettiest girl I know. & I dream of her. I wish I could hold her. & see her smile.

© Ed Simkins



Leave a Reply

