Away From War

I cuddle close & soft light smiles.

An end to war & violent fights.

Talk exists but weary minds,

Each is silent, fast asleep.

They hold their arms, entwined in rest.

As closing punches end the day.

The tanks & knives & punches thrown.

Are grief, relief & wishful bleeding.

Thoughts of naked girl that drives you mad,

Repeat apologies, for mind still plagued.

Returning home through wars across the global page,

I wish I’d find her pleasant form all wrapped in love & mine upstairs.

I’d slumber walk & lie beside,

I’d taste her breathe, perfume inhale.

Her eyes would glisten, her body heat,

Fingers flow through silken hair,

Her youthful skin would make me smile

Her tender touch, her cherished crown

I’d kiss that girl who hides from wars

Who sends me smiles instead of death,

As bullets pass & evil calls,

I lie close & naked within her grasp.

In mind I’m safe & baby warm,

Her sleeping picture, tonight’s protection.

A final breath & a sensual kiss,

With Man & Girl in peaceful rest.

~ I wish she were beside me. I would just hold her close.

© Ed Simkins

Leave a Reply

