Perfect Contentment.

Sleep consumes me.
A beautiful dream.
I close my eyes my dear.
Dreams flutter like stars in the naked sky.
Breathing in.
Gentle air flows through veins.
The body dies.
Dissipates.
Ash upon a morning breeze.
Spirit soars as the ancient body descends.
Slumbers. Snores. Wallows deeply in the mud.
Relaxed.
Soothed.
Massaged.
I cannot stand.
I cannot move.
My pulsing heart the only sign of life.
My mind connects.
& wanders.
I do not seek. I do not want. I close my world to human needs.
I see her face.
Illusion through the sleep?
Or lust for a face so delicate, so warm?
I desire.
& in that moment my heart quickens.
It smiles. In eager anticipation.
A new drug found.
New delusion. I drift into gentle sleep.
& I am happy.
Asleep.
Content.
Smiling.

~ I fell asleep in Yoga tonight! A dream, a face, appeared as I went under.

© Ed Simkins

One thought on “Perfect Contentment.

Leave a Reply

