Stillness

Today I work hard, though there’s not much to be done.
No girls to speak,
No angels to chase.
No dreams to enjoy or places to take.

I thought I’d sit here and ramble
Enjoy the sights of the garden
Speak happy to the flowers
Watch the growth of the buds.

The world is at peace
There’s a silence in the clouds
There’s a roaming delicacy in love
& there’s a quietness in the gym.

I stand here beside you
Staring off into space
Biding my time
Wasting my breath

For though love should be made & the monies collected
Or the bins put out & the showers be switched
I stand here in still harmony
A spaceship in flight.

I look out at the creatures
& I know that I’m one
Fighting to survive,
to love & to kiss.

But the stars are so cruel & god is asleep,
So I stand here in slippers, pondering my thoughts,
Dreaming of a status
In which one day I am king

Til her princess is mine
& she’s holding my hand
When adventure occurs
& we make love on the sand

Dreams are expensive
& Humans a whim
Another cloud drifts by
& I stand here, without sin.

~ A Sunday afternoon pause

© Ed Simkins

Leave a Reply

