Back From Holland

flying with the angels, scared to death of ending
camping in the muddy woods, storm trees are bending,
copies of machines, with riders in all directions,
a thousand windmills & canals, my maps & bright detections,
Amsterdam to Rotterdam, Arnhem & between
A million beautiful buildings; oh the joys I’ve seen!
Statues of Fikkie, Santa Claus, & monuments to the past,
Fortifications of independence which somehow seem to last,
Photos of architecture, mixing up the heights,
Simplicity & grandeur merged with Dutch insights,
Then parading in Brielle, shooting & all those smiles,
Walking all dressed up, crowds were seen for miles!
The colours & the splendour, the fun & all new friends,
Wishing that life’s adventure could stretch without an end
Worichem & Gorinchem, Utrecht & the lost,
From wild camping & roughing it, to hotels bought with cost,
Geertruidenberg & funny smurfs, families of fun,
Broken down in swamp boats, & food enjoyed in sun,
People of perfection, the owners of my dreams,
laughing & a-crying & joking all in streams,
from the bells of old day worship, to the grills of food delight
creating memories of happiness wildly into night
then Arnhem & the war, with death & all destruction,
a blip between the nations, when relations do malfunction,
oh the beauties of the Dutch girls, all cycling along,
all breaking my heart such, that I break out in a song,
a portal in the pyramids & a lake of sleeping beauty,
sadly I head off home then & fly over North Sea,
Eyes full of beauty, from the buildings to the girls,
& memories of the miles cycled or spent in new Dutch world,
Dreams created, fun times had, memories were born
My body sits back home now, but my mind is still forlorn,
In the places I experienced, in the people that I met,
In gratitude I send my smiles; to the Dutch I’m now in debt!

~ The End of My Dutch Adventure 🙂

© Ed Simkins

Leave a Reply

