A Day In The Life Of Me.

A cold evening death, stillness in solitude.
The light fades deep; a darkened empty room.
Sun dips head and waves farewell.
Dark mood takes over, sombre tone to tell,
In sands of grey, a mangled wreck
A human tide around my neck
A foreign race of greed & power
Stripping my nation of courage by hour.
St. George he fell in overwhelmed disgust.
While flowers saluted as England lost.
Two camps came clear, one black, one white
An error in the ways of man, so obvious to cite.
& women captured by the folly of their lies
Money, power, greed & comfort, opened wide your treacherous thighs.
I circled the army to which I relate.
The few were dying though but I battled hate.
Yet battle lost I ran inside, a hideous complex, a rich man’s joke
A hideous beast in which I hid, the tears fell from brave mens broke
I punched the terrorists & killed a few,
I ran through buildings, bruised black & blue
I cried for the millions, their mouths shut tight
For no-one speaks when God takes fright.
Collecting swords & thoughts gone past
I escaped outside & screaming fast
I took the soldiers & shook their head
“Follow on!” I cried & the war reset
A growing impulse of right from wrong
& If God were here he’d lead along!
Still numbers rose & the dead lay thick,
I stumbled forward on blood & sick,
I craved my medals, I sought my gold
I stood on limbs & raised their soul
But then I blinked & I was led
To train of strangeness in empty shed
I gazed at girl & stripped her down
Her clothes were torn & flesh was shown.
I bit her lips & loved her skin,
I pushed her round & pulled her in,
She loved her pleasure & I her smile
& echoes filled my ears awhile.
But solemn night now takes control,
& light has faded over lonely soul,
I sit here silent & weary torn,
Intrepid fighter, in tired form.

~ a day in the frightful city; of library, aliens, trains, beauty & interest.
© ed simkins

Leave a Reply

