Morning Rain & Dreams

Death is a friend through the darkness of the night,
I awake and I see you, a dream I once knew.
I tell you that I love you and I see your sweet body
I wish you were here & love kissed me more.

As the rain hits the windows and the flowers sadly cry
I turn to my side and see the space you once slept in.
My mind sets you there and I’d kiss if I could
But cruel is my life, filling with space.

I’m not sad anymore, no more than the rest,
& I’m grateful for my world, my minute little part.
I just wish, cause I’m selfish, than I had something I want
The affection and the kingship that once I enjoyed.

& I’ve learned from the past, through sadness & defeat
& I know that I’m stronger & my ego a devil.
I know that I can love and how I can make happy
I know how to set her free & love her so deeply.

But it’s morning now & the world is awakening,
It’s cold and it’s raining and I’m staring out of my window.
& I wish one day that fate, or accident or something more crazy
Would set out my dream and let her walk back

I don’t care about her past, I don’t care for the words
I just wish she were in my arms and the peace back again.
I wish for her romance & the days that we laughed
& I’d make sure she knew of the love in my heart.

~ awakening with the sight of her beside me. How cruel is the mind!
© ed simkins

6 thoughts on “Morning Rain & Dreams

Leave a Reply

