A room in black & white.

Late night futility.
Dreams that end in stillborn terror.
Dark days fail.
Winter jest remains.

A voice of death claims its love for you, departs
A solemn procession through the mind.
I tried to kiss you once
You turned your head & sighed.

Passion held its tongue.
Religion exists no more in glimpses told.
A heavy blanket calls my name & beckons me.
Nude symphony of flesh has gone.

An open window, wind breeze & cool.
Silence smoothers all,
No matter the time of day
Imagine fate in which you conquer life & smile or laugh.

Tonight you stand there,
Wondering where the dead have gone.
Heavy piano plays, the keys in solemn rejection sing
Goodnight to god, the world & beauty sung.

So the world’s in black & white you see.
I bow my head & turn.
Imagination kisses her long farewell.
I loved her so or tried.

Her naked skin & beauteous form belies
The failings of fate which tore her soul apart.
A rose of red rust flutters in the darkness
Windowsill stained with rain.

Cold water filters through & lies,
The room an open coffin of the past.
I pull the blanket over me & candles dim.
Like love itself, a final ember burns & dies.

~ a simple stimuli & my mind will wander. Tonight a song & I was gone.
Β© ed simkins

5 thoughts on “A room in black & white.

  1. dear friends, i just got home to see you guys had made this squeeze into the readers top 10 favourites. thank you so much for, as always, taking the time out to read and like this flow of thoughts. i really do appreciate it as you make it worth while for me writing on here! so cheers! πŸ™‚ thank you kindly and many big smiles and happy chocolate cake to you all! πŸ˜› πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

