Amusement held in unfettered bottles.

Ah!
The warm remedial taste of alcohol.
A sensation flowing through the chest of death.
Intoxicating dreams which surf along the waves of youth.
I drown.
& tales of life do not care.
I sing for you.
An illusion of such great fallacy that none shall know the truth!
& another swig.
Eyes which set themselves alight flutter in the darkness of the night.
& dreams of existential fashions collect within my mind.
& the feelings of someone’s naked body disappoints.
A girl of such honesty & prettiness that none will call her truth.
But in these nights of liquid desire, I drink her in with lust.
& succulent prepositional age & form will whimper in the night.
Small & callous are the nouns for this!
I drink.
A final desert of sweet Athenian nectar plays with me.
I smile.
In peevish anticipation of the world tomorrow & all its charms.
I saw my friends today.
& all who spoke lied!
As is the nature of man.
I stumble to the wrong room & fall beside her.
A naked man beside a naked princess.
Tears form in Amazonian flood as I perceive the danger of where I am.
I roll & stumble. A floor line trace is safer than inside the girl of my dreams.
& so I snore.
Fate has saved me from a prison cell indeed.
But heavy hand holds her wrist
& the thoughts of her are always there.
Unconscious sounds
& the days epiphany is that I should not drink again.
& I wont.
The bottle to which I fetched some fourteen minutes ago Is like my life upon this floor;
Empty & insured against a fateful death.
I bid you goodnight & sleep.

~ the downside to drink in the middle of the night.
© ed simkins

Leave a Reply

