Dark Forest

Kiss her lips my friend.
Kiss them as darkness falls & the grey clouds shimmer.
Fear falls in lonesome forests known.

She cries that single tear which cuts through hearts of hope.
& I’m tired of sending lines which fail to form.
Her silence grinds against my wanton heart & sinks.

Memory of a girl I used to love in summer’s daze flitters through my restless mind.
& I burn my tongue in screams of teenage angst.
A dying man sits in weakened stance, broken bones collapse beneath the ageing wait.

I say her name.
I repeat & hear the howl of wolves within this wicked wood & cry.
How that love so true & strong can bend & break like a rusted chain?

& on this deep & dark & dampened floor of wild distress I shake in fear.
She walks away & leaves me dead, inert, no hope, forgotten breed.
& stars watch in questioned poise as love retreats.

Alone once more, a thought lost in the darkness of space & ocean deep.
Waves of grief rush through the frozen mist & sting my bones.
I loved her so, but love has left & aching senses echo with dull defeat.

~ missing her
© ed simkins 2015

Leave a Reply

