Sleep Request

blankets of illusion climb upon my face
I’m lost to the destiny of today.
Dreams percolate thoughts of fatigue
If I could escape I’d try.

Soft hand request
A distant want through pain.
I’m ill & sick & the walkers pass
Hurling obscenities on the streets below.

A simple note I leave upon my door
‘find me – but only if you wish to witness death’
& I writhe below the terror of my escapade.
Sleep is a closing friend.

Searing levels of frustration & nightmarish angst cross my brow.
I care little now for your response or avid need.
Stumble up the stairs well known
& drift through books of the fallen dead.

Eyes burning, yearning, tears fill these poisoned voids.
I look no more in your direction nor call.
Flowers pray in coloured smiles
Forest angel claims no more.

Girl stands upon my feet & stares,
Asks my name in perfect solitude, no voice.
I kiss her sweetly, caress her cheek
& vomit forth the deed of sleep.

Leave a Reply

