Love which Smiles

An hour I’ve sat here.
Stuck. Numbed by happiness. Frozen in time by the smiles you left upon my heart.
Can I call you back?
I knew you’d run with open arms and hold yourself so closely against all I contain for you.

I’m beaming.
I’m frightened.
I’m in love & it bleeds.
I cannot move for fear that this moment is edging ever forwards into darkness.

Oh my angel I long for you & you have only just left!
That I could fall for such a girl. For such a woman.
For such an angel who loves me too.

I hurt.

I hurt for you.
I hurt for every second you let me caress.
I hurt for every cherished smile you send my way.

& I play back the movie I make of you.
These eyes repeat their offence & enjoy.

I breathe you in and warming fires began to flame across this frozen heart.
How can it be that love exists in such times that always end?
That happiness flits across my universe and that you, you are the beautiful radiating cause of it all!

I love you.

A simple declaration of every thought I hold for you.
I smile and long and want and dream and kiss the silent air when you are gone.

Your joy is mine.
You let me in.
You stand so close. You let me play and tease and stroke and hold
And breathe.

And you enjoy me for it.
For the happiness I give you.
& I love you.

Girl, I love you.

– each experience with you fills my heart with such abundance of dreams.
© ed simkins 2016

Leave a Reply

