With Her

Her eyes are alight. She’s laughing.
She’s killing me.

I’m dying for this love.
For this love I know will disappear.

I don’t know what to do, she controls my heart.
I drive along, the tears start.

With her I’m alive, I’m insane, I’m in love.
She radiates such warmth that I cannot deny.

She presses against and she teases me so.
Her secret is safe as I gaze in her eyes.

I’m in love & I sing, a clown & I fool.
I gallop & I praise & I grin like a God.

& then she is gone & my heart sinks like a stone.
Sitting in darkness, a whole different tone.

Love is such misery, I’m confused and frustrated
Dying to hear her, to touch her, to please.

– in love.
© ed simkins 2016

Leave a Reply

