Sat Beside

I cant resist
I had to see her.
I had to glide around & around the crowd to look unconcerned
Just to see her.

& once the random acts of kindness were perceived by all I rested upon the chair beside her.
& said nothing.
For she knew I was there.
& she smiled.

As she spoke in soft pleasurable tones, her words tickling the world with delight
I gazed upon the beauty of her face.
An artist with his gentle muse
& she smiled.

I drifted blissfully, her perfect face my ocean for the day.
Freckled pools & white reflections
Lips of youth & graceful hair
My eyes skipped across her soft serenity.
& I smiled.

I leant in. To breath her in, absorb her very being. To taste the sweet scent of love.
Heady with desire I paused to kiss her soft fresh skin
My eyes studying every mark, every pore, every whimsy of her perfect face.
Every curve perceived with majesty & beauty.
I caressed her chin & smiled.

In moments of crazy conversation & horrid crowds, I held her gaze.
Flirting wildly, she became my pet.
A kitten reaching out and jesting against the cotton ball, she played against my face with such sweet tenderness.
& proximity & desire drew us ever in.

Oh sweet Lord, my unfaithful & most dishonest friend, I love her.
That all these ghosts which surround & with wrathe conspire,
Let me hold my darling close upon my heart-felt need.
For she smiles with the glimmer of the midday sun,

& I leave a kiss with finger reached & stroke the gentle arc of nose & chin.
I wish her well & thank her for her human smiles.
Misery consumes when the love I seek departs
& again I sit alone & dream of her.

– Moments with my love
Β© ed simkins 2016

2 thoughts on “Sat Beside

Leave a Reply

